Fuyang was founded during the Qin dynasty in 221 BC. The settlement’s first name was Fuchun with the name of Fuyang used from 394 AD onwards.
Recent research has shown that the Ming dynasty Hongwu Emperor fled through Fuyang from Yuan dynasty forces during the closing years of that dynasty. Evidence of the pursuit has been found on the Tianzhong and Anding Mountains as well as in Yushan Village.
During an offensive against the rebels in Zhejiang at the time of the Taiping Rebellion (1850–1864), Imperial commander Zuo Zongtang laid siege to Hangzhou and gradually captured the surrounding towns, including Fuyang to the southwest. In the final assault, General Jiang Yili and French commander Paul d’Aiguebelle (德克碑) destroyed part of the walls and took the city by storm, before sacking it.
In the early 20th century Fuyang was a hub for paper and bamboo products with Fuyanese bamboo used for the ribbing in paper umbrellas produced in Hangzhou.
Chinese Guomindang forces fought numerous battles against the Imperial Japanese Army in Fuyang and Xindeng, then a separate administrative area, during the World War II Japanese occupation of China. In December 1937 neighboring Hangzhou fell to the Japanese army and in January 1939 Japanese and Chinese forces fought for control of Fuyang. In 1942 Japanese forces clashed with Chinese Guomindang troops for control of Xindeng during a Japanese offensive against Jinhua, the then capital of Zhejiang province. The United States Army Air Forces bombed Japanese positions in Fuyang in August 1943, reportedly inflicting hundreds of casualties. In early August 1945, Japanese troops launched an offensive from Fuyang and captured the neighboring centers of Tonglu, Xindeng, and Lin’an City.
A significant percentage of historic Fuyang city was demolished by wars in the 1940s and China’s modernization campaign that began in the 1980s. Many of the notable structures standing in Fuyang today are of recent construction.
The Fuchun River waterfront runs several kilometers along the left bank of the river and is a center for social gatherings and sightseeing. Yu Dafu Park is located on the riverfront.
The Fuyang International Trade Center Hotel (富阳国际贸易中心大酒店; 富陽國際貿易中心大酒店) is one of the most prominent structures in Fuyang. The five-star luxury hotel is situated on the left bank of the Fuchun River and was constructed with 320 million RMB in funding by the Zhejiang Sea & Land Holding Group Co., Ltd. The structure covers an area of 43,000 square metres (460,000 sq ft), has 27 floors, and is the tallest building in Fuyang.
Fuyang is known for its scenic mountain views and has numerous notable mountains, including Longmen Mountain, Ting Mountain, Guanshan Mountain and others. Many of these mountainous areas serve as places for locals to relax.
- Guan Mountain (鹳山; 鸛山) is one of the best known tourist attractions in Fuyang. The mountain takes its name from its resemblance to a stork standing close to the nearby Fuchun River. Throughout history, the mountain has been deemed a place of seclusion with many historic figures including Li Bai, the well-known Chinese Tang dynasty poet and Song dynasty poet and politician Su Dongpo repairing to the area. The Songjun Villa was the home of Fuyang poet and author Yu Dafu (1896–1945) and his mother. This and other sites have been preserved by the Fuyang local government.
- Longmen Mountain (龙门山; 龍門山) is located in the village of Xingmeiwu, and at 1,100 metres (3,609 ft) is the highest mountain in Fuyang.
- Mount Tianzhong is also a noted feature.
Parks and Zoos
- Xinsha Island (新沙岛; 新沙島) is a small island in the middle of the Fuchun river, with an area of 4.12 square kilometres (412.0 ha; 1,018.1 acres) and is surrounded by water and trees. West of the island is the largest natural freshwater swimming pool in east China. The beach area extends to 3,000,000 square metres (32,000,000 sq ft) with wide vistas and beautiful scenery. The island is a popular tourist destination during the summer.
- Yu Dafu Park (郁达夫公园; 郁達夫公園) is located near the Fuchun River and is a memorial to the writer Yu Dafu.
- Hangzhou Wild Animal World Zoo (杭州野生动物世界; 杭州野生動物世界)is the largest zoo in eastern China.
- Enbo Park (恩波公园; 恩波公園) is one of the oldest parks in Fuyang and is home to the historic Enbo Bridge.
- Changpukan is a well known location in Fuyang and includes Changpuling mountain.
- Guanshan Park (鹳山公园; 鸛山公園)is located within Fuyang city east of the river, and is a first-level national scenic area, known as the east China culture notable mountains.
- Huang Gongwang Forest Park (黄公望森林公园; 黃公望森林公園) was named after painter Huang Gongwang’s well-known masterpiece Fu chun shan ju tu. It covers 333 hectares (823 acres) of which 96.5% is forest.
- Dong Wu Park (东吴公园; 東吳公園) is on Jiangbin West Road and occupies 200,000 square metres (2,200,000 sq ft). Inside the park, there is a 50,000 square metres (540,000 sq ft) artificial lake. The design and the style of structure represent the culture of the Three Kingdoms Period.
- Longmen Village (龙门古镇景区; 龍門古鎮景區) lies 16 kilometres (10 mi) from Fuyang and is a modern tourist attraction ranked as an AAAA‑class national scenic spot. The village is surrounded by mountains. It is named after an ancient poem written by the poet Yan Ziling (严子陵) when he visited here. Also, it is the homeland of Sun Quan, who was the king of Wu during the Three Kingdom Period. A children’s entertainment park is located near the Rainbow bridge.
- Jinzhu Village is located in Gaoqiao town.
One of the historic architectural features in Fuyang is Longmengkezhan (龙门客栈; 龍門客棧), noted for its local specialties and traditional snacks such as Shenxian Chicken and Youcaidofupi. People believe that the great Sun Quan set off from exactly here after his mother made him the special food of his hometown. Increasing numbers of tourists now visit this place of interest.